Forum: SuRun Geht nicht ...gibt's! RSS
Windows 8 - need to type passwords all the time
StephanP #1
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Windows 8 - need to type passwords all the time
Last week I upgraded my W7 netbook to W8 Professional, but I’m afraid to have to report that something has gone awry with SuRun.
In short it comes down to this: If I want to run something as Administrator, the surun confirmation dialogue comes up, but I still have to type in the password. The same happens when Surun automatically jumps in to elevate user rights of a program that should be elevated.
Now I've temporarily disabled SuRun, but that's not much fun either.
Does anyone have experiences with SuRun on W8?

Stephan
(Replies in German language are fine)
StephanP #2
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
I decided to fully uninstall en re-install SuRun.
The problem remains.
Additional thing: No Surun icon in the system tray.
StephanP #3
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
More details

Scenarios:
Start menu (Start8), RMB-click CCleaner, Start as Administrator (with shield icon), Surun dialogue pops up, I tick remember passwords as well as Always, CCleaner is started as Administrator
>>> Surun has elevated CCleaner, no icon in systray

Next time, Start menu (Start8), start CCleaner using the LMB-click, CCleaner is not elevated (I can tell by greyed out advanced option)
>>> So, "Always start this program..." appears not to be working

Next time start CCleaner with RMB-click, Start as Administrator (with shield icon), no dialogue, CCleaner runs in elevated mode.
>>> So, "remember passwords..." is working

Download some installer, say install_flash_player.exe, and start it from the explorer, the standard Windows UAC dialogue appears - not the SuRun-version
>>> So, "Automagically elevate..." appears not to be working

I hope this helps in reproducing things.
(Replies in German language are fine)
StephanP #4
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
More info:

RMB-click on application bar does not show option "Restart as Administrator" in the popup menu.
Kay (Administrator) #5
User title: Weltverbesserer
Member since Nov 2007 · 1507 posts · Location: Magdeburg
Group memberships: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
I'm sorry for the bad experience with SuRun in Win8.
I need to get Win8 before I can test and answer.

In my Win8 preview Build 8400 SuRun runs just fine, displays an Icon in the Task tray and elevates apps that are explicitly started "as administrator"... but it fails to come in before UAC, like on your system.

UAC seems to get access before SuRun and so UAC asks the Questions first that SuRun would ask.
If that's true, there's unfortunately nothing you or I could do.
UAC decides what to do before SuRun's turn starts.

After I got Win8 on one of my systems, I'll try to make SuRun more compatible.

Cheers,

Kay
StephanP #6
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
Thanks for the prompt reply and good that you mention this, Kay.
I now remember that UAC was/is disabled on my systems, simply because SuRun is taking care of it quite nicely.
The W8 installation must have switched it back on.
Shall I try to switch it off again, just as an experiment, because in the end SuRun should co-operate with W8 UAC as it is.
Stephan
Kay (Administrator) #7
User title: Weltverbesserer
Member since Nov 2007 · 1507 posts · Location: Magdeburg
Group memberships: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
Sorry for the late answer. I had to try first.

I installed Win8pro in a VM and added Classic Shell, CCleaner and SuRun.
First try with Notepad:
1. I run (WIN+R) "surun notepad" and told surun to always elevate without asking.
2. I run (WIN+R) "notepad" and it was started with admin rights.
3. I created a link to notepad on the desktop
4. I double clicked the link and notepad was not elevated by surun
5. I right clicked the notepad link and clicked on "Start as Admin..." and SuRun started Notepad without asking

Second try, CCleaner:
1. tried the same as with notepad with ccleaners desktop icon. No success.
2. copied ccleaner64.exe to the desktop
3. started ccleaner64.exe with surun, telling it not to ask again and to auto elevate
4. double clicked ccleaner64.exe and surun popped in, but surun asked to run "ccleaner64.exe /uac" as different user... (SuRun's RunAs)

It seems that SuRun fails to set it's hooks into Windows 8 Explorer.

I need to check further, when I find the time.

For now SuRun seems to be Windows 8 compatible but the hooks definitely don't work with Explorer.
StephanP #8
Member since Nov 2009 · 16 posts · Location: Amsterdam
Group memberships: Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
Hullo Kay,
I'm glad you were able to narrow down the problem.
Thanks,
Stephan
Kay (Administrator) #9
User title: Weltverbesserer
Member since Nov 2007 · 1507 posts · Location: Magdeburg
Group memberships: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Show profile · Link to this post
Hello Stephan,

I found the problem with Windows 8 and SuRuns IAT-Hook.

It's solved with SuRun 1.2.1.1b2
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Page created in 93.2 ms (58.3 ms) · 93 database queries in 15.9 ms
Current time: 2019-05-20, 09:36:31 (UTC +02:00)