Forum: SuRun Geht nicht ...gibt's! RSS
Firefox 4 - no restart as Admin
StephanP #1
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
Betreff: Firefox 4 - no restart as Admin
I just installed FF 4 and I noticed that a right-mouse-button click on the top border of its window does not give me the menu option "Restart as Administrator"

Windows 7 / 32bit
SuRun 1.2.0.9
StephanP #2
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
Dito SuRun 1.2.1.0b5
StephanP #3
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
Betreff: Dito Google Chrome (11) and IE9
Dito Google Chrome (v11)
Dito IE 9

It probably has got something to do with the way these browsers don't have an upper border....?
StephanP #4
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
Betreff: Dito MS Office 2010
Another app without top border and as a consequence no drop-down menu "restart as Admin"

(BTW, if I placed this in the wrong forum-thread, please feel free to move it)
Stephan
Kay (Administrator) #5
Benutzertitel: Weltverbesserer
Mitglied seit 11/2007 · 1462 Beiträge · Wohnort: Magdeburg
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
I think you're right about that missing Caption amd missing Windows System Menu.
Chrome also has no "Restart as Admin" in WinXP while FireFox4 has.
I'll try to fix that.
Kay (Administrator) #6
Benutzertitel: Weltverbesserer
Mitglied seit 11/2007 · 1462 Beiträge · Wohnort: Magdeburg
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
I just digged a bit into this.

Those captionless apps use the Windows API TrackPopupMenu to show a fake system menu.
SuRun does not detect that.

Unfortunately TrackPopupMenu supports a flag that makes TrackPopupMenu return the clicked item directly to the app, instead of sending the clicked item's command to the app with a Window message.
Google Chrome seems to use that.

SuRun's system menu hook is unable to intercept that without hooking the TrackPopupMenu API directly.

For now I'll leave SuRun as it is until there's a captionless program that really needs to be restarted with elevated rights.
StephanP #7
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
For now I'll leave SuRun as it is until there's a captionless program that really needs to be restarted with elevated rights.
I used to use this quick switch to elevated rights, whenever Firefox had an update to install.
(I do understand your problem, though)
Kay (Administrator) #8
Benutzertitel: Weltverbesserer
Mitglied seit 11/2007 · 1462 Beiträge · Wohnort: Magdeburg
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Administratoren, Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
...today I found a way how SuRun's system menu hook works in all the programs you told in the first posts.
I'll put that into the next beta.
StephanP #9
Mitglied seit 11/2009 · 16 Beiträge · Wohnort: Amsterdam
Gruppenmitgliedschaften: Mitglieder
Profil anzeigen · Link auf diesen Beitrag
You're absolutely fabulous!
Schließen Kleiner – Größer + Auf diesen Beitrag antworten:
Prüfcode: VeriCode Gib bitte das Wort aus dem Bild ins folgende Textfeld ein. (Nur die Buchstaben eingeben, Kleinschreibung ist in Ordnung.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Weitere Zeichen:
Gehe zu Forum
Nicht angemeldet. · Kennwort vergessen · Registrieren
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Seite erstellt in 167,8 ms (77,7 ms) · 93 Datenbankabfragen in 103,9 ms
Aktuelle Zeit: 28.04.2017, 19:49:00 (UTC +02:00)